No singns of goats going in heat

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Silvi, Oct 22, 2020.

1. Silvi

Silvi Member

Apr 18, 2020
    Lithuania, Europe
    Hello,
    I have a small situation here and I hope fore some input with ideas and experience. So I am new to goats. I have two milking goats we bought this summer and it's about time to start thinking about breeding. The thing is I see just some weak sings that one of goat can be in heat, but it's not enough to keep taking her to buck to check. Other one seems like not going on heat at all. I read that if you have only two goats they can be very quiet when on heat, like no buck miles away so why bother :) I do know about buck rug and this is something I am considering, but I have few other things I am also considering now since buck is quite far away and I start to see problems with taking those goats back and forth to him with potential not to be bread at all. So, I am thinking to buy a buck after all, keep him with goats and this way be sure they are bread (renting might not be possible, not sure about that yet). I read a lot about advise not to buy a buck if you have only couple of goats. So I am a bit at loss about that. Other thing I read is possibility to milk goats more than a year after kidding. Some say they milk up to 7 years and happy about it. I just love this idea if it works cause I have no need for kids (I have mix breed goats just for our needs and will have to cull kids for meat). Had anyone done this or is doing still? This way I can get a buck and sell it later or give away or butcher as a last resort.

MadHouse likes this.
  2. Sfgwife

Sfgwife Well-Known Member

Feb 17, 2018
    North Cakalaki
    Some does will not be loud and proud about their hears when a buck is not around that is true. But their lady bits usually swell just a bit, ay e a bit of mucus, tail flagging more than the norm, more vocal.