Normal Size

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Hailee's Herd, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Hailee's Herd

Hailee's Herd New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Michigan
    What is the normal weight for a Nubian doe that is 1 year old? Just wondering. I would say that my goat that is a year old is probably around 60 pounds. What do you think is normal?

Thanks!!!!

:thumbup:

2. Shazzy

Shazzy New Member

Oct 15, 2007
    Twin Cities
    I am no expert, but I think that 60 lbs is quite small. I have an Alpine yearling who I thought was on the small side and she's about 95 lbs. Were you just guessing on the 60? Try this site if you can't weigh her or don't have a weight tape:

http://goat-link.com/index.php?option=c ... &Itemid=47

It has the weight for the heart girth, just follow the directions it is pretty easy.

Hope I helped!

3. Dover Farms

Dover Farms New Member

Oct 16, 2007
    NW Ohio
    That is quite small. Flicka is 11 months and probably pushing 100 lbs. if she isn't already...I haven't taped her in a while.

4. Hailee's Herd

Hailee's Herd New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Michigan
    I used the heart girth tip. Acording to that, Splash weighs about 63 pounds. I also think she is pretty small, Shadow will be a year in May, and she is the height of Splash, but probably just a little lighter.

5. PACE

PACE New Member

Oct 8, 2007
    Mass
    I'd say it's pretty small as well... but at a year old they still have a chance to grow quite a bit. Pace and Shanti (nigerians) were each about 25-30 pounds when they turned a year old... tiny, I know. They had free choice hay and minerals and water and grain twice a day... they were just little. Very healthy and perfect in every way :wink: but small. Then, over the summer, they had a major growth spurt and now at a year and a half, they are each 60 pounds. They doubled in weight from the time they were a year till when they were a year and a half. It's just how they grew :shrug: