The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the goat world and am finding this whole pack goat thing really intruguing. We have a registered Nubian doe (will kid in May) and a Toggenburg cross doe(w/ feinter), initially intended to be a paddock mate to our Nubian. I read on another site that Nubian crosses make good pack goats. I'm thinking about using my Tog mix with a Nubian buck to see what kind of pack animal it might make, although it would probably be smaller than a Tog / Nubian cross.We live in Tennessee, so would likely be using them (down the road) for hiking / backpacking trips in TN and AR, with an occasional hunting / fishing trip out west as me and my best friend get closer to retirement.

Anyone with experience have any thoughts on this?
Thanks

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
Re: east coast pack goats?

At the risk of irritating Nubian fans everywhere, I would never recommend breeding to a Nubian for a serious packer. I have owned hundreds of pack goats over many years and I can count the number of "passable" packers with Nubian ancestry on two fingers. Granted, I am hard core when it comes to goat packing. I expect them to carry weight all day every day in some very tough country. If you are just doing it as a hobby and plan on some day hikes and easy stuff around home then yes they will probably work out fine for you. If you plan to do any serious packing in tough terrain with the goat carrying a heavy pack all day then I'd stick with the proven Swiss Dairy Breeds. Toggs, Alpines, Obers, Saanens and even Lamanchas can be great. I'm not saying that any Nubian breeding is bad only that it must be added into any breeding program carefully and the performance of your young pack stock evaluated carefully.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Rex and Ohio,

Thanks for the feedback. I freely admit I'm a real newbie to this.