Oh my bucks smell so lovely......

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Sybil, Aug 25, 2008.

1. Sybil

Sybil New Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Rainier, Oregon
    The boys have started putting on their fall colonge! Oh what are the neighbors to think as this is my first year to have bucks on the place. I bought my mom's place and it has been years since I have had goats here! All new neighbors since growing up. Any new ideas out there to keep the boy smell down? Pray for no wind? Only trick I know is to keep young bucks. Haven't seen any does in heat yet.

2. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    No idea what would make them smell less. I don't think its possible! My older buck sure is smelling lovely right now. :sick: Oh and my girls have started going into heat. It's crazy breeding season again! :roll:

3. capriola-nd

capriola-nd New Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Northwest Oregon
    Hmmm. Can't really think of any tips, unless you don't mind giving them a bath. :) That's not too fun! :wink: We have young bucks now but one is a yearling, so is starting put on more "cologne". Nothing has ever compared to the pygmy buck we had for a couple years, Monty. . . . boy did he reek!! ALL YEAR LONG!!! :roll: So, you probably clipped him - that will help. Just tell your neighbors that it's the "smell of love". :D Or just pretend like you don't even notice it. "Hmmm? I don't smell anything!"

4. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    capriola-nd , thats funny! 'i dont smell anything' . you could bathe them weekly/shave them. i've never tried it though, its cold here so you cant really smell it, it must be bad where it gets humid. :sick:

5. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA