The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Goat Crazy!
6,475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seriously, I understand all the arguments for disbudding goats. We show for ADGA and 4-H, so we can't even opt out if we want to. And I really DO like owning goats without horns.

Still. I hate, Hate, HATE disbudding them.

HATE!

LOATHE!

DESPISE!

As many of you know, we had 8 kids born as 2 sets of quads. One set were polled and the second set - all boys - were horned. Since they were quads, they were small little buggars. So we waited until day 7 to disbud (I usually aim for day 4). Even then, I wasn't sure if our runt, Amos was physically large enough to burn. He's growing well and is quite frisky and sweet and happy. But he's tiny!

However, his buds were not particularly tiny. So yesterday we went for it.

Let me add that this is my 9th year disbudding goats - so I am not a novice. In all that time we've never had a mishap with a doeling and we've only ever had one boy react weirdly. Eyes rolled pant, excessive panting, etc. He was a LaMancha. We gave him banamine and iced his head and he was fine after a few minutes.

But yesterday totally sucked. We did Amos first. My daughter held him and we did the first bud. Instead of fighting and squealing, he just went limp. Eyes rolled back. Tongue sideways out of his mouth. I swear he stopped breathing altogether for a minute or so. It. Was HORRIBLE!. We iced his head, gave him banamine (Did you ever try to give 1/2cc shot?) and pampered the heck out of him. Both my daughters and I were crying!

But we had more to do. So we let Amos rest. Isaiah sailed along perfectly and cheerfully sucked down his bottle. But Joshua reacted too. Not as strongly, but still pretty bad. More banamine. More ice. More snuggles.

Daniel's disbudding seemed to go ok, but shortly afterward his head started swelling above his eye. So MORE banamine.