OK, Now I feel like poo~

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by kelebek, Oct 31, 2007.

1. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    So I received these goats that were in a terrible situation on the 29th of September, not knowing that one was not disbudded and had huge horns.

Any I am very new to goats and was told to band them becuase within the first hour of her being here, she was stuck in fence 4 times, and the others were beating her up real bad when she was stuck. Not knowing, I took her to a friends to have her banded, thinking this was a norman and ok thing to do. I had seen another that she had banded that looked wonderful.

Well, tonight, when I got home from work, I went out to check on her, and one of her horns has broken off at the base of the head sometime today. She had dried blood all down the side of her face. I took warn Nolvasan water and washed it all off to find that it is broken, and there is no open hole. She knew that I was there to help her, and did not fight me on it.

I cleaned her up, gave her a pen injection and gave her some extra grain and alfalfa, as I know she is not going to want to go around the other goats much. She is still happy and lovey, eating and drinking.

Is there anything else that I can do for her - Oh and she is pregnant and due March 6th.

I feel so bad, and wish that I had the knowledge that I didn't a month ago. Her horns have been banded since the first few days of October and the other does not feel very loose. What in the world should I do?

Please help~

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    sounds normal to me for a horn that was bumped off a little to early.

Nothing to beat yourself up over since there was nothing you could have done to keep it from happening that way.