OMG! I am a goat midwife!!!

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by capi71, Jan 28, 2009.

1. capi71

capi71 New Member

Dec 7, 2008
    Jasper, Georgia
    OK! So yesterday I went to a horse barn for a barn manager position. I am not really needing a job, but the owner really needs help. So I went to see what kind of trouble she was in. On my way out there I get a call from the owner saying she was running late and to make myself at home. Little did she know what that was going to mean.
    As I arrived (4:30) I noticed two little Pygmy goats in a stall. The owner had mentioned that the nanny was pregnant but had no idea when she was due. OMG! She was in labor and the buck was still breeding her. So I found a lead rope and pulled him out. When I got back to "Bunny" she was trembling and exhausted from running from the buck. Her ligs were gone, udder tight! Now I have never seen a goat deliver in person...only the pictures here on the forum. I called my good friend Kate (Helmstead) and she confirmed my thoughts and stayed on the line through the whole ordeal. LOVE YOU KATE!!!!
    So Bunny's water broke at 5:00 and bubble presented at 5:10. Then I see 1 hoof and a nose. AHHHHH! Only ONE HOOF! So at 5:20, after letting her push a little I slid my hand in (now let me remind you that my other hand is holding the phone and Kate is talking me through it) and with a little pressure on his head I helped that little black buck pop right out. YEAH!! I no more got him dried off that another bubble. Ahhhhh! Another one! So here comes a caramel doe that slides out with no trouble at all. The momma did so great and went right to her job of cleaning and caring for the babies. Turns out the Momma is only 11 months old. Sheesh!!!
    So at 6:00 after everything is done and babies are looking good the owner arrives with no comprehension of what WE had all been through. She slaps me on the back and says they will name the doe after me. "Kelly"