The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
sydmurph
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone; I'm having awful luck with my herd. I'm new to goats and am dealing with just about every illness and problem you could think of. To top it off, I have a sweet doeling who was lovely enough to share her ORF with me. (The vet confirmed that's what it was). Now I've read all the clinical findings about the disease but very little from people who have had it. My finger HURTS! Lol. They don't really mention that part. Any suggestions for relief or at least what to expect would be awesome.

I'm totally regretting this 'need' for goats...btw my barn is brand new and cleaned often. Promise it's not neglect/ lack of cleanliness that's causing problems. Any insight into your personal experience with ORF on YOU and not the goats would be appreciated.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
Oh my goodness! No, I have no experience with orf, but I just wanted to say I am sorry you are having to deal with this. And, hang in there, the goats are worth the trouble!

·
Registered
2,544 Posts
You can use campho-phenique on it. Some people have severe reactions to it. A local guy got it this spring and both his arms swelled to about 4 times their normal size. Almost had to have them amputated.

You will need to keep it covered so you don't spread it to other parts of your own body. You can also get a secondary bacterial infection from it, so it is good to go to your doctor and get antibiotics for it. Make sure to tell them ahead of time you have orf so if they aren't familiar, they can do research on treatment before you get there. A lot of doctors aren't familiar with it. It will take time to go away, and will be very sore and swollen.

·
sydmurph
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes Tenacross, exactly. Soremouth = ORF = contagious ecthyma. In any terminology it sounds ominous!!

·
Registered
30,581 Posts