The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And for a cat?

My apologies for not posting this in the Other Pets forum but it'll get a lot more exposure here.
Since most of us old timers keep big old bottles of injectable Fortified B Complex on hand I'm wondering, can it be given orally?
My oldest cat has just been diagnosed with an unspecified cancer and I want to boost his appetite. I can pay a fortune to the vet for a little bitty bottle, but that stuff looks and smells exactly like what I have on hand for the goats. I have a call in to the vet but she hasn't responded.
Thanks!

·
Registered
36 Posts
I would see if you could get pred from your vet, it's a very inexpensive drug that stimulates appetite and also helps with cancer. I worked as a vet tech for 7 years and that was always my doctors go to drug in cats. B complex can also be given SQ and I can look up the dose if you would like if you want to try that first. Sorry your cat's sick :(

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would see if you could get pred from your vet, it's a very inexpensive drug that stimulates appetite and also helps with cancer. I worked as a vet tech for 7 years and that was always my doctors go to drug in cats. B complex can also be given SQ and I can look up the dose if you would like if you want to try that first. Sorry your cat's sick :(
Thanks! He's getting 5mg pred split into two doses daily along with lasix to keep fluid from building in his chest cavity. The vet took 140ml of fluid out of his chest two days ago. That's how I noticed he was sick, having trouble breathing. Labs on the fluid indicate an advanced cancer so this is it for the old guy, he's 16 years old. I just want to keep him as comfortable as possible in his last days. He's still going outside to hang around in the shade like he loves to do and I'm letting him. Losing weight fast, I'd just like to boost his appetite some more.