The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My little Ozzie is sick!!! I don't know what he has, but his nose is all runny and he sneezes and coughs quite a bit... Like a cold... He doesn't stay with the other goats, like normal, he goes and stands in the doorway off by himself...
It got pretty cold last night, I'm not sure if that's a factor??? I'm probably getting worked up over nothing, but he's so sweet and he's small so he can't afford to lose lots of weight or anything... So can anyone tell me what it is, how to treat it, etc??? Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
10,787 Posts
awww I hope he gets better soon, I will let more experienced goat parents guide you

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
I am not very experienced, but it might be lungworms. They do cause a cough, but it is weird that it came on so suddenly. When's the last time he was wormed? Have you ever done fecal tests?

·
stonebrokefarm
158 Posts
Have you taken his temp yet? That will give you a starting point with how serious it is....if he is running a temp then there is definitely something brewing.......

·
Registered
30,566 Posts
Yes..get his temp..sound like he could have phenomia ...101.5-103.5 is norml range...I have two tonight Im having to treat..

Keep him hydrated with good electorlytes...(recipe to follow)
A shot of B complex to give him a boost...
let us know his temp...if its high them OTC choice for me would be Tylan 200 1 cc per 25# sub Q every 12 hours...Banamine for discomfort and fever reducer...

Homemade Electrolytes

A half gallon of hot water
2-6 Tablespoons of Unsulphured Blackstrap Molasses or what you have on hand or honey
1-2 Tablespoons of Either Sea Salt, Epsom Salt, Baking Soda or Table Salt.
1 cup of Apple Cider Vinegar

Mix well and drench or let them drink it.

·
Registered
3,663 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·