Pasture question

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by nesluopetan, Feb 18, 2010.

1. nesluopetan

nesluopetan New Member

Feb 16, 2010
    Utah
    do you need to limit the time goats spend out in the pasture during the summer? the reason I ask is obviously goats eat all day and last summer my goats started getting diarreah because of all the green grass they were constantly eating. it seems like everywhere I look people have goats out in the pasture and they let them free roam.. so i am just curious what you all think of this. should I keep them in a fenced area most of the day then let them " browse and eat " a couple hours a day? or should I just let them roam the pasture all day and stuff their faces full? I just don't want them to get sick.. Just curious what you all recommend with this. Thanks!

nathan

p.s. i hope you don't mind all my questions.. I want to do things right and I am still a newb with goats so I have lots to learn.

2. cdtrum

cdtrum New Member

Aug 25, 2008
    Northern Indiana
    What I do is at the beginning of spring, is make sure they fill up on hay inside before letting them out in the late morning.....I do limit how long they are out at the first of spring when every thing is so lush and then lengthen their time out as days go by until they finally reach the point where they can be out all day.....this is just what works for me, I am at home all day and can do this. I always worry about bloating.....but I am a real worry wart!

I always make sure they fill up on hay in the mornings before letting them out anytime of the year. My guys go right out to pasture when letting them out, I unfortunatly do not have a dry lot with no grass.