The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, so I’m pretty new to registered goats. I just bought my first registered doe in the October and have since been really throwing myself into learning all about registration and ins and outs. I have most of the actual process of registration down etc. Now it’s more all the terms used to show the goats quality etc. I’m trying to start to learn. She’s registered with MDGA. Anyway, my question is what do you all think of her pedigree. From what I’ve studied so far, and my minimal understanding it seems pretty decent, but would love any input from the more experienced!
Fun fact: She is due to have babies the end of February.These will be my first babies able to be registered! Excited 😉
Font Paper Document Paper product Circle

·
Registered
473 Posts
Well, I do not know Nigerian dwarf lines so I can't help you with that part. I can tell you that the SGCH means a finished champion and a superior genetics rating. The girls seem to have their milk stars for multiple generations and your bucks are plus and star B's which is good for milk. If she's American Dairy goat association registered you can actually go on the genetic website and learn more about the parents and grandparents. You can see what traits they tend to pass on what their strengths and weaknesses are if they have any linear appraisal numbers and you can look at other prodigy and see how they have done.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·