People that show Boer goats

Discussion in '4H/FFA Corner' started by RPC, Jun 28, 2010.

1. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

Since this is my first year with the kids showing boer does my question is about shaving. I know I shave the wethers completely but what do I do with the does. Our fair starts July 20th. I was told to leave them how they are. I am going to clip the long hairs around their hooves just so they look a little cleaner. My one doe has nice short hair and looks fine but the other almost has wool. This year I have one wether and one doe that have really wooly fibery hair is this normal? Thanks for all your help in advance.

2. nancy d

nancy d Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2007
    near Seattle
    Im no good at clipping especially after my mentor told me "You get the hang of it after you do it about 500 times" LOL
    Like you, I clean up hoof hair on the does & also clip the tail hairs so judge can see pigmentation better.
    Sorry dont know anything about wooly fibery coat but someone who knows more will surely give you a heads up.
    Is she just a young un?

3. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

Yeah she is a February doe so she is young

4. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska
    clean up hooves, tails, i also shave the belly up to the chest floor to make them not look so furry, sometimes i'll clip off the long facial whiskers and a beard if there's one.

5. shannons a boer

shannons a boer New Member

Oct 14, 2010
    Ohio
    I know this is a little past your show date but for future reference I have always shaved my wethers down a month before the show and my does two months before their show. This makes them clean and smooth and gives a chance for a bad clip job to fix its self! Then the week of the show chip the hairs around the hoof and trim the tail but leave the end of the tail long so it kinda looks like a fan. Happy clipping!!

6. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca