Pine trees needles edible?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by JessaLynn, Oct 1, 2009.

1. JessaLynn

JessaLynn New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Our goats have two pine trees in their pasture (not sure what kind,they have the needles that fall everywhere on the ground) and are always munching on the needles.Are these safe for them to eat.I am getting mixed reports on it and not sure.One book says no and another says yes it's a natural dewormer.UGH! Any help would be appreciated!

2. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI
    Yes, they are safe and goats love them! I'm not sure how effective they are for deworming, though...so I would not rely on them for that.

Now, I have heard that pregnant goats should not eat them, but I have no personal experience with them causing any problem.

3. JessaLynn

JessaLynn New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Well we have 2 does that are pregnant and that worries me :question: I wouldn't rely on that to deworm them but it doesn't hurt to help out in that area :) Thanks for replying!

4. BetterBuckskins

BetterBuckskins New Member

Feb 1, 2009
    Taxachusetts
    Our girls think they are not only edible, but delicious, no evidence on our end that they caused problems during pregnancy. :)

5. RowdyKidz

RowdyKidz Senior Member

Apr 2, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Yep! Pine needles are OK for goaties... :wink:

6. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Mine devour Blue Spruce! They even get my Christmas Tree when I'm done with it....and they are usually pregnant at that time and have had no adverse effects from them.

Most conifers are ok for goats....it's the Hemlock or "flat needled" pine type tree's that aren't.

7. goathappy

goathappy New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Illinois
    Ponderosa and yellow pine are also not good for goats, but most pines are perfectly fine and are very high in vitamin C.

8. donbusbin

donbusbin New Member

Aug 30, 2009