The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I don't have any vet who knows anything about goats within 5 hours of me, so I am totally lost. One of my does has been milking poorly and today her little bit of milk was pink. I suspect a calcium deficiency, and I will begin treatment of dolomite powder asap, however she has a kid (it was her first pregnancy and she only had one) and I am concerned. The kid still drinks from her udder, and has always seemed to be a little sickly and undersized. Lately, the kid has developed occasional diarrhea, which I was unable to diagnose (I thought it was worms). Could the kid's sickness be caused by her mother's calcium deficiency? If yes, should I start her on a calcium supplement as well? Thank you so much for your help! I'm a complete newbie at this, although I've had goats for years they are usually so healthy I've never had a huge problem. ~Miss Rose

·
Goat Girl
2,018 Posts
Pink milk is generally caused by mastitis in which case you need to wash her udder really good, wash your hands and wear clean gloves, get a clean container and take a sample from each side of her udder. Label which side each sample came from and send it off for testing, either with a vet or you can send it to LSU (Louisiana State University). To go to LSU it does have to be overnighted and it does have to be kept cold which can be pretty expensive this time of year to do. They will test it for mastitis for free. If it comes back with mastitis you will want to have a sensitivity test done on it to determine which antibiotic(s) will kill the bacteria in her udder. I think they charge for the sensitivity, but not sure how much. If the overnighting will be too expensive any vet that knows about cattle and udders will be able to help you. They can have the sample tested through their own lab which will be much cheaper.