Planning My First Kidding

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by MellonFriend, Jan 23, 2020.

1. MellonFriend

MellonFriend Well-Known Member

I am trying to plan my first kidding and I wanted to know what you guys think. If you don't know I have two does and two bucks. All are Kinders. Bella and Prim are the does and Phantom and Cullen are the bucks. IMG_4909.JPG IMG_4915.JPG
    IMG_4936.JPG
    I think for the fact that this is my first time doing this, I am going to breed just one of the does and then breed the other in the fall for spring babies. I plan on breeding Bella, the black doe in the first picture to Phantom, the buck on the right in the bottom picture. Bella is the easiest doe to work with and the friendliest with me so I think it would be best to learn with her first and then breed Prim in the fall.

Timing is something I want to discuss. I want to make sure that I breed Bella for the earliest time that I would want to kid because if the first date doesn't result in a pregnancy then I don't want the due date pushed into cold months. Am I making sense? So I figure the earliest time I would want to kid is August. I am in western NC and last year the temps averaged in the 70s where we live, but the average temperatures tend to be in the low 80s. Last year our September temps were way hotter than usual. We had highs in the high 80s and 90s for most of the month. But the average temps for September are usually in the 70s. Last year we even still saw the mercury rise to 90 degrees in October! We usually have much more mild weather from late August to September but things as you can see have been unpredictable.

Any thoughts or advice would be helpful. I am getting my vet to come and take a look at my whole herd just as a wellness check and I plan on discussing my plans with her as well, but I would love to hear if any of you had anything to add.

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Are they year round breeders?