planning on milking my first goat tomorrow morning..

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by KLSpoultry, Jan 3, 2009.

1. KLSpoultry

KLSpoultry New Member

Dec 14, 2008
    Omaha, NE
    any advice??

i'm pretty sure she's never been milked before and i've never done it before either.

she kidded 17 days ago and i seperated the kids after doing evening chores.

what should i be doing?

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    relax, remember that u both are beginners

3. capriola-nd

capriola-nd New Member

Jul 6, 2008
    Northwest Oregon
    I would take a warm to hot rag out and wash the udder and teats carefully before milking. Have fun! Hopefully she is a good girl for you! :)

4. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I really hope you have a milk stand...lol, it will definately make things easier for you and your girl.

Relax and let her know that regardless of how much she dances you will continue to milk her, it will take you a while the first time...and I will suggest milking one handed, hold your container with the other hand and dump into the pail, as she may try to kick at you and this will prevent all the milk from being spilled at least until she learns to stand till. You may be lucky though and have a girl that wants to be milked.

Good Luck! Can't wait to hear how it goes.

5. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX
    Don't pull on her teats!

I learned very quickly that nothing ticked off my doe more. :oops:

Just remember not to give up or get frustrated and keep at it no matter how much she fusses. I started with a WILD doe and no stand and somehow managed, so I'm sure you can too. :)

6. heavenlyhaven

heavenlyhaven Senior Member

Apr 16, 2008
    Belmont, NY
    take 3 buckets with you
    1 with warm soapy (antibacterial soap) water and a wash cloth
    1 empty
    1 with grain in it
    tie her up and put the grain in front of her