The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mocha was my first buck, that I got in September along with a couple does. I have him bred to 3 of my girls. I'd like to know what people thoughts on him are. I'm wondering if he's show worthy and how much I can loosely value the kids at based on his conformation.

I'm also curious as to whether anyone thinks the doe in the third pic (Pauline) and the one in the 4th (Dolce) seem show worthy.

Sorry if they're not set really well. I'm still learning.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
15,205 Posts
He's a cute little guy, but doesn't have very good conformation. He's very short bodied, with an extremely short neck. I'm seeing very posty rear legs, weak pasterns, and crooked front legs. He is not near show quality, in my opinion. You'll get some cute kids from him, but you may just end up with pet quality type kids. If he's got decent udders behind him, then possibly you'll get some decent home milker kids from him.

The does are nicer. The chocolate one might be show quality depending on her udder. The spotted one doesn't look as nice, but if she has a nice udder, she might do okay in the show ring.

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the input! My mom really wanted us to show him and get him out next year, but I'm glad I asked first. He does have good milking lines behind him but obviously the conformation isn't there. I'll just advertise the kids as home milkers then unless by some miracle he throws magically amazing kids. I was thinking about selling him next year anyway due to the fact I have my other 2 fancier bucklings now.

Pauline does have a really nice udder. Sadly I wasn't wise enough to take pictures when she was in milk.