The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
These girls were born Nov 2012 - I was VERY new to goats, breeding and just wanted milk originally - but now im into showing and have actually got into this much deeper - what do you think of these girls? any pro's? When I look at them - I like length - both lacking brisket?? the buckskin nicer than the cream?? anyway - would like some more technical answers, hoping they will mature more and have more depth and more of a wedge shape then??

Attachments

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Very pretty girls! I'm an amateur myself, just learning about conf, but I'll give it a shot. ;)I think your right about the buckskin being better. She has more length, flatter rump, and doesn't seem to toe out like the other one does. She also has a longer neck, her legs are nice and straight and she's very smoothly blended all over. They both could definately use more brisket, maybe a little more body capacity. The first onoe has nice strong looking pasterns; I cant see the buckskin's feet, so I can't tell but I think they both look great!
I really am just learning, I'm sure someone more experience will give you a better opinion! :D

·
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes thank you for giving it a shot though!! Im still learning the terminology as well as proper conformation - learned a lot by watching linear appraisals this year.. now i like to see what everyone see's compared to me. I was going to have these girls freshen then decide on who to keep - I have both there moms as well - the cream one's mom has a poor udder but pretty nice body - but I was just comparing these guys to my newest doe who is little over a year and they aren't nearly as nice, hoping these guys will mature more.