The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
***in advance I apologize about picture quality***

Hello all! :D I am just starting out in the goat world and have some question about the quality of this prospective doeling I'm currently indecisive about.

She is an 88% Boer that is registered with the ABGA. Her dapples are striking, but even though I would love to experiment with color, I feel that the overall quality of the particular goat may be more important than the pattern. And with my lack of knowledge in goat conformation... I would love YOUR help! :laugh:

I am curious. Is her conformation is too far gone for there to be any chance of good attributes in her offspring? :confused:

Attachments

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's what I said when I first spotted her (ha. "spotted")! She would be bred to my very first boer if everything works out. :)

Attachments

·
14,615 Posts
He has much nicer rump so he should correct that in any off-spring. Nobody wants steep rumps, they say there's more of a chance for difficult birthing but one of my girls has debunked that theory time & time again.
Your doe is pretty!

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
The pics make it hard to judge her.
I will take some more tomorrow to make it easier ;)

He has much nicer rump so he should correct that in any off-spring. Nobody wants steep rumps, they say there's more of a chance for difficult birthing but one of my girls has debunked that theory time & time again.
Your doe is pretty!
I ended up purchasing her so I will hope their kids' backs balance out. Hopefully Stella will be as lucky as your doe!:thumbup: and thank you very much. :)

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)