The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to the Goat Spot and hope I can get some advice. I am very worried about my pregnant 3 year old Nigerian dwarf goat. She is a FF...On Tuesday I noticed she had separated herself from the rest Of the goats and her bag was pretty full. I brought her into her kidding area that evening. After checking on her all night nothing major seemed to happen. Later in the day on Wednesday it seemed like she had gone into labor and I saw her water break. She did do some pushing but after a while she stopped and the labor seemed to stall. Vet came out Thursday morning and did an examination finding that she wasn’t not very dilated. He had said that we should still give it a few days and see what would happen but he was leaning towards the likelihood of mispositioned kid or twisted uterus. He said most likely her baby would or had already had passed due to her water breaking and no signs of labor again. I am at a loss, please if anyone had advice I would greatly appreciate it. I don’t want to lose her but I also don’t want her to suffer unnecessarily. We don’t know the due date as one of our males jumped the fence. They get fed a good quality grass hay, a mix of goat feed, beet pulp sunflower seeds, kelp meal and some yeast as well as their goat minerals and get copper bolused... please help so we can do our best by her. As of today she is up and walking around, continues to have some bloodyish discharge, eating and drinking ok but obviously very uncomfortable with such a full udder. Any advice would be helpful thank you in advance!

·
Registered
1,920 Posts