The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 5 1/2 month old Nigerian buck died a few hours ago. I'm thinking it was polio, I've never had to deal with it but I'm new to goats. He had slight bottle jaw starting Friday so I gave him 1cc Ivermectin. Also, I have had 3 other goats get bottlejaw (barberpole) and ivermectin has knocked it out quickly but lots of recover time for the anemia.
So back to my boy. I wormed him Friday afternoon. Sunday I noticed he was lying down more than usual. When I tried to make him stand he would collapse & try to bleat. I held him up to eat & drink & he would for just a few minutes. So I started giving him lots of vitamins, minerals, electrolytes, & red cell. He was worse Monday, not getting up at all & not wanting to eat, I repeated giving him the same as before & a Vit B shot & Penn G. Now today, Tuesday, he was the same, but would stand for a minute. He didn't eat or drink much, so I gave him more of the same & Vit B shot & Penn G. He was too weak to chew or swallow. I started tube feeding him but his stomach was still very full w/the mixture from before. He had clumpy poo by the way. So I called the vet thinking polio & he needed Thiamine but during my call he passed. Vet said it wasn't worth him coming out & to expect to lose goats. (these are my registered & very nice Nigerians & he was a $350 buck!!!). His eyes started twitching & his head/neck went limp & he was bleating, back legs stretched out & tight, that happened minutes before he passed. I hate it so bad, he was very special to me, I bottle raised him. He was so nice, moonspotted & polled, from the best breeder in GA too.
So, could this be polio?
I also had another one die back in May with similar symptoms & died within 72 hrs. I had no idea about goat polio back then.
So, polio, listeriosis, or something else? Should I get a necropsy? Please help, any advice is welcomed.
Thank you

·
Super Moderator
58,847 Posts