Pooch Test -- is she pregnant?

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by Squires, Feb 16, 2011.

1. Squires

Squires New Member

Sep 14, 2010
    Two questions -- is she pregnant, and if so, is she due? :ponder:

I have a three year old Nubian, first freshener. She was AI'd and I do not know if she is pregnant. Today would be day 151 and I was told this is the most likely day for her to kid. I just can not tell if this doe is even pregnant.

When I lifted her tail to take this photo, I noticed it was very pink and there is a bit of mucous -- but even then I'm not sure. She does not yet have an udder, and her ligaments on either side of the tail are still hard.

I would not be surprised if she is not pregnant, but also would not be surprised if she is! Please check out the pooch picture and tell me what you think. Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Anna

Anna New Member

Oct 16, 2007
    Fayette, AL
    It looks like she is in heat to me. I'm not good at the whole pooch thing. But with no udder development-rock hard ligs. a day post due, I'm thinking she's probably not. I've AI'd cattle and typically as a rule we don't AI FF, they just don't seem to take as easily.

3. Anna

Anna New Member

Oct 16, 2007
    Fayette, AL
    Not sure if that the same in goats??? I'm in the same boat with a yearling that I was really wanting a kid out of- little udder development, ligs. still hard- would be due tommorrow- but I noticed her in heat with the other yearlings. :/

4. farmgirl42

farmgirl42 New Member

Jan 2, 2010
    Eastern Ohio
    Hi, Anna.

If that is the only breed date you have for her, I would have to say she is not preggo. I agree it looks more like she is in heat. :sigh:

5. Squires

Squires New Member

Sep 14, 2010