Possible cystic ND doeling 1yr old

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by jenparrish24, Nov 3, 2010.

1. jenparrish24

jenparrish24 New Member

Nov 24, 2009
    Illinois
    I have a doeling bred for the first time 1 wk ago to a great buck, that i know is good, he is full blood ND, from a good herd. He bred her in a strong heat, but she came back in heat 7 days later, with discharge, but would never stand to be bred. Could she be bred and just acting wierd or could this be a cystic doeling? If you think its cystic can this be solved like cattle cysts with GnRH double dose to get rid of the cyst?? She is in great condition, i am a nutrition consultant and formulate the rations so i know they are getting the right nutrients and levels. All other doeling have been bred a month ago and have not come back in yet so i hope she is just reacting goofy. please help with any suggestions. thanks a bunch

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    If she wouldn't stand for the buck then she likely settled the first time, IF she shows heat signs in the next 21 to 25 days then I'd try and breed again, if not then you'll know she settled.
    I have 6 does, 5 cycle every 18 to 21 days, one cycles every 25 days and has had a "5 day" heat on the 7 th day after the initial heat, she settled the first breeding and had twin does, even though I took the buck to her with the 2nd heat, she wouldn't stand but was teasing him like crazy.

3. jenparrish24

jenparrish24 New Member

Nov 24, 2009
    Illinois
    Thats good to know.. i was getting worried about her and thought something may be wrong. I will just wait and see. Thanks Liz I appreciate it. Yeah on day 7 when she came back in and had alot of discharge but wouldnt let him breed her i was concerned. i will let you know what happens.

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA