The Goat Spot Forum banner

Possible Johne's positive - what to do?

2K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  TDG-Farms 
#1 ·
I'm just starting out with goats, so I'm looking for some advice. I recently got 3 goats to start my herd. We got a wethers who is a Pygmy Boer cross - just a pet, and two Nigerian Dwarf females. I got all of them about the beginning of July 2013. I had the vet out a few weeks ago to test for CAE and Johne's. One of the does came back positive to the Johne's disease. The test that was done initially was a blood test. I've now collected a fecal sample and I'm waiting for the results. My plan was to purchase a buck and breed both the does this fall. Now I'm not sure what to do.

If the fecal test confirms the Johne's Disease what are my options? I'm thinking I should cull the one doe, but what should I do next? Should I wait until next year and have the two remaining tested again and then breed if they come back negative?

If the fecal test comes back negative, does that mean I'm safe to proceed as I had planned and breed this fall? Or should I wait and have them tested again?

The plan is to have goats and goat milk for our own use, but I'll also want to be able to sell the excess kids. I'll need a clean herd to be able to sell the kids.

I've read a lot about Johne's since the results, but some of it is conflicting and some of the information is not very specific. What I'd like is a recommended action plan for both positive and negative results.

Any help would be appreciated.

See less See more
#3 ·
The blood test gives false positives, so if the fecal comes back negative I would trust that, then retest with a blood test in 6 months. If positive I would cull her and go on with your breeding plans with the rest, but retest your entire herd in 6 months with the blood test.

#5 ·