Possible milking problems

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by Perfect7, Apr 28, 2010.

1. Perfect7

Perfect7 New Member

Apr 19, 2010
    South Georgia
    I am VERY new to goats...it's been about two weeks now. While we primarily are staring with boers, we do have a nubian that is due to kid anyday now. We planned to start milking her a few weeks after she kids, but that may be a problem. She has milking perfect teets and a nice udder.....but she wont let me touch her teets! If I go anywhere near her backside she backs away, moves in a full circle (no kicking, thank goodness). What can I do now to help prepare her for milking in the future? Or will she be so relieved to be milked with a full udder that her woes will disappear? (wishful thinking). This is going to be fun for sure, considering I've never milked anything before (with exception of nursing and pumping for my own children). :GAAH:

2. jay13

jay13 New Member

Apr 12, 2009
    Central NC
    As I understand it, it is very normal for a doe not to want anyone to mess with her udder just before she kids. My doe was the same way up until the day she kidded. After wards.... well I won't say she is perfect, but I made one of those goat hobble things and it works a dream! Oh, and having a good milking stanchion is awesome. You can get her used to getting treats up there now before its time to milk so that she associates it with good stuff.

3. K-Ro

K-Ro New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    Texas
    my girls wont let me mess with their udders until after they kid. after she kids she should be ok. might take you a few times milking her for both of you to adjust toeach other, but you should be fine. so just leave her be until she kids.

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    leave her alone till she kids and once seh does you will want to have a milking stand -- makes yours and her life much easier come milking time.