Potential Coccidia, Need help

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Rascal66, Jul 27, 2019.

1. Rascal66

Rascal66 Member

Feb 7, 2019
    USA
    My young buckling(5 months) has been having Diarrhea for the past 5 days now. I thought he was scouring but even after giving him just hay and mineral, it hasn't changed. Its like a pudding consistency.

I've only had Kikos for about 2 1/2years now. Never had an issue with Coccidiosis but now I think its apparent that my young kids are coming down with high levels. I have another young doeling whos poop is becoming a bit soft. (Not quite diarrhea, but more clumped together, not even pelleted.)

I have no experience with Coccidia in goats. I was trying to get a fecal to my vet yesterday but had issues with transportation.

I'm worried now because the vet is closed till monday, and my buckling is becoming weak. He's eating and drinking but he sits for long periods now. When I was able to try to collect a fecal, he just isn't even popping as much anymore, unless I keep missing it.

I just purchase a bottle of 9.6% corid at tractor supply, along with a vitamin B12, Thaimine paste that also comes with probiotics just to have in hand.

Any advice on what to do now? I'm afraid his time is running really short. I just want to help him somehow asap.

How can I dose him? I'm also not 100% its coccidia, but I have a gut feeling it is.

Alsoooo, i bought some medicated goat and sheep feed, to feed as a maintenance for the kids after these episodes. Thoughts?

Thank you.

2. cristina-sorina

cristina-sorina Well-Known Member

May 4, 2018
    Northeast Ohio
    Get electrolytes and put it in all the water buckets of your goats who have symptoms. Give probios.

Don't give the thiamine with the Corid, if you want you can give it after the course of treatment is completed.