The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi members. I’m new to this forum and also new to goat pregnancy. Looking for advise on my pregnant goat.
She appeared to be in heat and was placed with our buck on February 24th which would make her due late July. Second time being pregnant. However today I noticed her babies have dropped and her vulva is puffy. She also has a fairly full but not tight udder. Her back end appears very loose. I am not sure how to check ligaments as I am fairly new to goat ownership. Wondering what thoughts are based on these photos? Is it possible she might have been bred the month prior and still came into standing heat the following cycle?

Attachments

·
Registered
889 Posts
Has she had any discharge? It’s hard to tell based on photos how much longer a doe has. All does are different. Generally speaking, we know she is getting close by common signs like swollen back side, filled udder, discharge, loose ligaments, etc. However, some does may exhibit some signs more prominently than others which fools us often. To me, her right side doesn’t look very large, which could just be the photo, the way she carries, or possibly she just has a single. I’d say stick with your original breed date unless you think there is a possibility she got accidentally bred earlier.

·
Registered
208 Posts