Pregnancy cause for decline in milk production?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by JenJenWv, Mar 4, 2011.

1. JenJenWv

JenJenWv New Member

May 5, 2008
    I have a Nubian doe that has dropped production over the last week or so and I was wondering if this could be because of pregnancy? I'm hoping she is bred, but not sure. Thought I saw signs of breeding on Jan 25 (just over 5 weeks ago.) She acted like she might have been in heat again in February, but the buck didn't seem to be interested in her although she didn't seem to want to leave him alone.

Anyone able to help me out with this?
    Thanks and have a great day!
    ~Jenny~

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    How long has she been in milk? Even without a pregnancy, does at the end of their "normal" lactation range will drop production.

Pregnancy can also cause it.

3. JenJenWv

JenJenWv New Member

May 5, 2008
    I've been milking her (Bella) for two years. Her last kids were born in Feb '09. I just didn't wind up getting a buck in last year to breed so I kept milking both my does who were in milk. They aren't giving lots, but it's enough for our family. We have a buck on the property with them now. Bella's been really steady at just over a quart a day for quite a while now, though. That's with only milking once a day. That's about what my other milker gives also.