The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased my first goat from a lady about 2 months ago. She is an American Alpine, already in milk, wormed and shots up to date. She's 10 years old.

Everything had been wonderful. The lady who raised her only milked once a day and so u have been doing the same. 2 quarts every day, until 2 days ago.
The past two days she is giving 1 quart. Her poop is clumpy. She lays down a lot. She is eating her grain, hay, and grazing just fine, but she will lay diwn a few times when grazing. She is panting. She seems in a daze and is very lovey on me.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Sorry, posting from my phone. Forgot to add that the lady did have a buck which she offered as a stud when fall arrives. Possible she could have been bred I guess.

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
I'm no expert but the first thing I would do is take her temp... She might be pregnant, but I have two 5 year old does that are expecting and neither of them has shown those symptoms, although they are younger.... Maybe also try a BoSe shot... I just learned about them and would like to get some for my herd for just incase. It' vitamin B12 and Selenium... Again, I'm no expert, I've learned a ton in my year of having goats...

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Maybe she was having some off days. I don't know. Her poop is normal now and she's acting fine. Weird.

·
Registered
635 Posts
There will be times when you can't figure out what's wrong but are relieved when it seems to go away on it's own. The problem is, you don't learn anything for the future from these episodes unless you analyze them some.