The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
city-turned-country girl
1,137 Posts
How long have they been housed together? How old is she?
Could you get a little more zoomed-in pooch pic ? And one of her udder?

:)

·
Registered
426 Posts
One of my bucks seems to want to mate anything including the female Anatolian Shepherd dog that I have to watch over the goats. I am in my second year with goats but had a very prolific mating and kidding this spring. It seems buck will mate with anything that is ready from my experience. I was pretty surprised to see my dog, obviously in heat, just standing there and letting my buck mount her and go to town.

That being said, the tummy of that goat looks somewhat pregnant but its udder doesn't yet. It may be early along or not pregnant. Mine all started to bag up within the last month or so. Based on how I have seen goats breed, I would say she has probably been bred if you haven't separated them or done anything to stop them.

I just started out last year and had lots of issues with them getting through the fence. Preventing breeding was hopeless. Of course two of my does gave birth to twins during the coldest weeks in Feb. I was trying to avoid dead of winter births but ended up with two. The other one in the winter was a single and a total surprise. I suspected the mother was pregnant but had no idea when. She dropped the baby in the pasture and luckily it was one of the 70+ degree days.

Conor

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How long have they been housed together? How old is she?
Could you get a little more zoomed-in pooch pic ? And one of her udder?

:)
They've been together for about 4 months now. I got them as 5month old babies. I'll try and get the pictures tomorrow. I'm working at the moment and her out at 11:30pm

·
Registered
13 Posts