The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to goats and a few months ago I was given 3 Oberhasli goats. One doe whom is about 2 years of age, a kid whom is about 4 months, and a buck whom is around 1 1/2 years.
My doe (Annie) has gotten rounder, not fat ( I dont think ) and not bloated. My neighbor even said she noticed a difference and asked if she is pregnant. I know for a fact that my buck (Jackson) is in rut, he gets ornery and he has that strong smell. Annie has been acting a little off lately too. She never used to rub her horns against me, but now she does, like shes mad shes not getting attention all the time, and normally she is independent. She is rounder than when I got her and I dont think it is her grazing belly she gets. Any advice please on how to tell she is pregnant? I know blood tests are available.

·
Fair-Haven
4,728 Posts
You can post a pic here of your girl. We need her backend, tail up, showing her girlie parts. Some people can tell well by seeing a "pooch" pic. Does she have any udder developement? How many months has the buck been in with her? Also know that he can and will breed your 4 month old girl (not a good idea!) so I would have him separate from the girls.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I will post a picture later today. The kid is a male that is not intact. So no worries there. But they have been together since I have gotten them. If she is pregnant, I do not know how far along she would be.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
She wasn't as big as I've seen her the last couple days. I was not able to get a picture of her vulva because she was eating and her tail was going nuts

·
Fair-Haven
4,728 Posts
Is she a first freshener? Her udder development tells me that she is pregnant. do you know the last time she was in with a buck. She doesn't look that big (although they can fool us). I would say she has some time to go.

·
Fair-Haven