Prejudiced against goat owners

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Perfect7, Jun 26, 2010.

1. Perfect7

Perfect7 New Member

Apr 19, 2010
    South Georgia
    I am a professional with a professional job. All of my friends were fine with the dogs and horses, and that was "acceptable". When I added chickens they thought that was kind of cute and "country" but when I got goats they looked at me like I had lost my marbles. Why is it that goat ownership is associated with dirty, filthy, hillbillies, or at least one of the Clampetts? If I had said I was going to raise beef, I probably would have gotten a big thumbs up. Now I'll admit my feet have looked a little dirtier since I brought home goats, from frequent trips to the pasture wearing flip flops. :laugh: But nothing else has changed, and the feet are clean before I enter our home. I'm not taking a serious beating over owning goats or anything, but just found it very interesting how people view goat ownership if they don't own them. People think goats smell disgusting, and I guess I thought that as well before owning them. Now I know it's the intact boys, because either I can't smell anymore or my girls smell just fine! :p Just wondering about other goat owner's experiences with this.

2. lissablack

lissablack New Member

Nov 30, 2009
    I'm retired and I used to do a lot of hot air ballooning, I have owned two balloons and my son is a very experienced pilot. We have sort of a clan that grew up around us, we started in 1981. They don't understand why I never show up. I do often have hay on my clothes. My feet are sort of grimy too. I feel more productive than I ever did before. And I'm learning to make hard cheese.

I guess most people really aren't animal people.

Jan

3. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI