The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I am new to goats and very excited to bring home 2 Nigerian Dwarf kids (wethers) at the end of October. I've been reading as much as I can, but still I am not 100% confident in my plans for shelter and fencing. I have a few questions as well. Can I have your expert opinions, please? I have found some great ideas here already :) As an FYI, I live in Wisconsin, and soon winter will be upon us :(. We can expect to have a few snowstorms where we are dumped with up to 10 inches of snow or more. We will have a some days where the temps dip below 10 degrees and maybe even a day or two or three where the temps go below zero. Otherwise temps are generally in the teens - low-mid twenties.

Shelter: just under 5' x 5'. This will be their only source of shelter. I do have a barn as I have horses, but currently I did not have plans to bring the goats in the barn. Is that okay? I worry because if they don't want to come out in the cold or snow, the small shelter really limits their ability to exercise. If I keep their area plowed, will the goats come out to play, even in the cold winter?

I want to add a sleeping shelf - about 2 ft wide and the length of the shelter. Is that appropriate for 2 minis? Should we extend the length of the shelter if we take up 2 feet of the floor area as a sleeping shelf? Again, worried it may be too small.
We are actually converting my children's wooden play set that they outgrew. So the shelter will double as a play house as there will be two levels, bottom is their shelter and the top is where they can climb to.

Should we insulate the shelter? For bedding, I plan to use the same pine shavings I use for my horse stalls, 4 inches deep. I plan to use a rubber stall mat under the shavings. Would straw be warmer for the winter months? Should I buy two goat blankets/coats? What is a good brand to order?