The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, thank you all for your great info. This is my first time posting a message. I met some of you at the rendy this year, and am so impressed with y'all. I am planning a trip next week into the Trinity Alps, where I have been told there are lots of snakes. I am bringing my two goats Ouija and Gyro with, of course. I remember from llama packing days that we would bring a rubber hose along in snake country because if a llama gets bit on the nose, which they tend to do because of their curiosity, you have to stick the hose up their nose before the swelling cuts off their breathing. Luckily I never had to do that. So my question is, if a goat gets bit on the nose, can he still breathe through his mouth, unlike a llama? Or should I pack the hose?

Thanks,
Ali

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
Hi Ali, welcome to the forum.

Llamas are Semi-obligate nasal breathers. For the sake of those who may read this post later, that simply means that they "prefer" to breath through their noses. I know there has been a persistent rumor that Llamas and Alpacas can only breath through their noses but its simply not true. They can and do breath through their mouth if needed, though admittedly not very often. I personally think the rumors persist because the cartilage on a Llamas nose runs half way up the bridge of its nasal cavity and a tight halter can easily pinch it shut. If the halter is that tight, it also limits how far the Llama can open its mouth and may cause it to suffocate.

Goats on the other hand, have no problem sucking air any way they can get it and often pant like a dog on a hot day.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Thanks. The question hadn't crossed my mind (yet). Iowa is a land of few rattlers, mostly around the rivers. I carry the ubiquitous snake kit for camping, although mine has epi-pens in it for snake and other venomous bites and stings. I've been bitten when I was a kid in NM.