Probably a stupid question but I am new to all of this

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by melbick, Jan 6, 2011.

1. melbick

melbick New Member

Dec 16, 2010
    Venus, TX
    As I said this is probably a stupid question but I have just discovered that a couple of our boys have lice (or at least I think they are lice they look similar to fleas but they are light in coloring). I am going to treat them tomorrow with a pour on as well as treating the rest of my herd, but my question is do i need to treat myself and my kids? I have heard several differant versions from these lice wont be attracted to humans to yes they will infect humans. HELP!!!!

2. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    Not stupid at all.... :wink:

No you don't need to treat yourself...it is only goat oriented..don't worry.... they don't like....people... :thumb:

3. SandStoneStable Farm

SandStoneStable Farm New Member

Dec 7, 2010
    Maryland
    Hi, Someone will probably answer this better than I, but...
    I just had to treat my goats for lice due to a visit they took off the farm, I dusted with coral.
    I also orally wormed with Ivomec because I didn't know the difference between suckling and biting lice.
    Everything is fine now and no lice are mostly host exclusive (dog lice on dogs, goat lice on goats...), I did not need to treat myself or family.
    Hope that makes sense.
    Caryn

4. melbick

melbick New Member

Dec 16, 2010
    Venus, TX
    :cool: Thank goodness, cause it would be more expensive to treat all of us than it is going to be to treat the goats.

5. peggy

peggy Senior Member

Aug 10, 2010
    B.C. Canada
    Can you actually see the lice??? My goats scratch, not excessively but they do scratch. So what do I look for?? And does anyone know what to use on pregnant does??

6. melbick

melbick New Member

Dec 16, 2010
    Venus, TX