Proper nomenclature-semi rant warning

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by elchivito, Jun 20, 2010.

1. elchivito

elchivito Active Member

Apr 18, 2010
    Maybe it's because I'm a retired teacher and a stickler for language. Maybe it's a regional thing I'm unaware of and need to be enlightened, but "nanny" and "billy" really bug me. They're either does, bucks, wethers (not "whethers" and not "weathers") or doelings and bucklings. I know it's no big deal, but sometimes stuff just bugs you, you know?

2. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    I totally agree. I do understand it when it is from people that live in the city and do not get a chance to live the wonderful country life, but when it is people that OWN goats? It does get under my skin.

The other thing is when people say they are Pygmy breeders and they spell it PIGMY. REALLY and your a BREEDER. I would not buy anything from them.

3. maple hill farm tina

maple hill farm tina Senior Member

Mar 14, 2010
    Rich Patch, Virginia
    Oh, wow, we are going to make some people really upset with this thread...