The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a couple of Pygmy goats and a couple of Nigerian Dwarf just for pets. 3 Doe and 1 weather. They eat their grains and alfalfa hay since we do not have much for them to forage on due to the extreme drought in Texas. I have been a veterinary technician for over 30 years, but only with dogs and cats, so I am learning everything I can about how to provide the best care for these sweet babies. I know in dogs and cats switching food brands can cause major digestive upset. In goats, if I feed Alfalfa hay and have to get it from a different source and it is a little different, is that going to cause them any issues?
I have been feeding them the Standlee compressed Alfalfa/Grass Mix, but have found another brand that is less expensive and looks like a good quality. Needless to say, they are so spoiled and I want to keep them healthy and have the least issues possible so they can be happy, happy goats. :)

·
Registered
Kinder Goats
2,943 Posts
Welcome to TGS and congratulations on some new goats! If you could change over the course of a week or two, I'm sure their systems would be much happier. That being said, I have had to change hay without any transition period before and my goats were fine although they had pasture available as well at the time.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Welcome to TGS and congratulations on some new goats! If you could change over the course of a week or two, I'm sure their systems would be much happier. That being said, I have had to change hay without any transition period before and my goats were fine although they had pasture available as well at the time.
Thanks, I assumed they would be similar to dogs etc when it comes to changing foods. :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Thanks
Welcome to TGS. Any dietary change should be done slowly but sometimes you just can't do it with hay.