Ques on sending goats for meat without feeling horrible

Discussion in 'Meat Market' started by QotL, Sep 30, 2008.

1. QotL

QotL New Member

May 27, 2008
    Maine
    Ok..

Well, I'm new to goats, and absolutely adore my two girls. We are borrowing a buck in a month to breed one of them to. He is adorable, and from good milking lines. The owner says he is very friendly. She offered to sell him to me for a very low price, but right now I don't really need/want a buck of my very own. This particular boy is headed for the Ethnic meat market unless he finds a buyer.

So yesterday I sent her an e-mail just letting her know that my tiny 2 goat herd has not been tested. I wanted her to have this info before lending me her boy. I do not feel that there are diseases in my little herd, but I wanted to be honest (and ya never know). She e-mailed me back and said she wasn't concerned about that, since she had hoped the boy would go directly from here to the butcher :sigh:

Now I know this is part of goat ownership.. don't get me wrong. I realize that if I want does in milk, I could very well end up with kids (especially boys, although I plan to wether so hopefully won't be as bad) who do not find homes. I had even planned to maybe use some of them for meat.

But I'm having a hard time even thinking about this. On a very concious level I feel really guilty for not outright buying him (even though I think it would be a mistake right now). So since you guys RAISE meat goats, I'm wondering how you keep yourselves distanced from the ones headed for the dinner table? As hard as it is for me to contemplate with a strange goat I haven't met, I'm thinking it will be 1,000x harder with babies I've helped deliver.

Thanks,
    Meghan

2. AlaskaBoers

AlaskaBoers New Member

May 6, 2008
    Wasilla Alaska