Question about blue eyes

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by loveallgoats, Jul 10, 2009.

1. loveallgoats

loveallgoats New Member

Jan 29, 2009
    Arizona
    Since I am new to ND and I have gotten some contradicting answers on this question, I would like to ask you guys. In order for a kid to be born with blue eyes does one of the parents need to have blue eyes? Or could it happen if neither of the parents have blue eyes but the grandparents had blue eyes? Just curious. Thanks

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    a parent has to have blue eyes expressed. THere are two forms of blue eyes - the cristal clear blue eyes and the marble blue (which can look brown in some lighting)

3. loveallgoats

loveallgoats New Member

Jan 29, 2009
    Arizona
  4. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    Yep, what Stacey said...at least one parent has to have them. If you breed two blue eyed goats you are VERY likely to get ONLY blue eyed kids. Then if you breed a brown eyed with a blue eyed it is generally a 50/50 for blue eyed although you could get 100% blue eyed or brown eyed depending on the blue/brown eyed background of the parents.

5. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    there are two forms of blue eyed gene and one is 100% blue eyes (homogeneous I think it is) and the other is like a 50/50 chance (another H word I cant remember the spelling of)

6. SDK

SDK New Member

Jun 26, 2008
    Yucaipa ca
    heterozygous!

yay for bio!

but yes.. one must have blues

7. KW Farms

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    It's homozygous :wink: Homozygous is dominant and heterozygous is recessive.

8. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    hehe see I knew I was close - but thanks I will try to remember the spelling but dont count on it LOL

9. ChestnutGrove

ChestnutGrove New Member

Apr 29, 2009
    Tennessee