The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everyone. I have been lurking on this forum for months, but this is my first time posting. I have a 8 boer does who were expose to a billy. I am 100% sure that today is day 155. I counted back to the day he left our place. I have three that are definitely pregnant. Not a single sign of labor other than some swelling of the vulva. Ligaments in place. No mucous. The other 5 I am not sure about. They are first fresheners. I thought they were and now they really don't look like they are. I have tried to palpate externally for kids and movement and really am not good at it. I think I see fetal movement, but could be imagining it too. I expect to see babies anytime and am presented with :laugh:. Darn goats
My question to the group is this? How long can they hold out on me before I get alarmed. Especially the three I know are pregnant. I realize first fresheners are good at hiding pregnancy as we had one of those last year. Did not look pregnant. Could not feel fetal movement. Knew she had been with a billy when we bought. Went out one morning to feed and we had a baby. She did not bag up at all until after she kidded

None of the goats look stressed. All are eating. I have lute but am very hesitant to give it. Have dexamethasone but really don't want to give that either. Would much rather have nature takes its course. I have not internally checked anyone as of yet. They are showing no signs of distress. Ligaments still intact, slight bagging but nothing impressive. They are killing me. My husband and I have been taking turns at night going out to check on them a couple times for fear of someone having trouble during the night.

Would really appreciate the thoughts of the group on this. :confused:

Nicki

·
Registered
6,576 Posts