The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wasn't sure whether to put this in the beginner breeder section or the mini section... This might be a stupid question, but I'll risk it :p I grew up around goats and absolutely love them, but I'm new to raising/breeding goats. Thankfully I have a friend or two who raise them that I can ask the goat basics. But they don't know mini Nubians, which is what I've decided to breed (from the bottom up). :) My question is can minis with "bad" ears (airplane, 3/4) produce babies with "good" ears? Or do you just not use those ones for breeding?

·
Premium Member
29,236 Posts
first generations usually are airplaned so you have to use those to continue to breed up in generations. I do believe by like the 3rd or 4th generation they have to have pendulous ears to be registered.

·
goat Mamma
280 Posts
I have no idea the answer for that one, but I have basically the same question. My mini lamancha doe that I bred to a PB ND had triplets with ears like dad this year. I retained a Doeling but an wondering if her babies will produce lamancha ears or not?

Attachments

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you. I knew it was probably a stupid question. But I figure if you don't ask, you don't learn. :p So the pendulous ears are a dominant gene then? That's very interesting. Is there anything I can do as the breeder to ensure that they become so? I mean, is it just a work with the best you can situation, as with other traits? Thanks for your time. I'm actually really excited about this, despite my ignorance.

·
Registered
94 Posts