The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm completely new to milking (my doelings will kid their first time this year) and I wondered about raw milk. I have every intention of our drinking it raw, but wondered what the possible problems are concerning raw milk? I know contamination (milking with dirty teats, hands or bucket) can cause problems. But is there anything else to watch out for (diseases, etc.) That make the milk unsafe?

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
I drink mine raw. I dip the teats in with sanitize hand gel with aloe, or I use wipes when it's cold..., I warm then up in the microwave before heading down to the barn. I milk, first with machine, then by hand. I spray fight bac on the teats afterwards or I I use the sanitize hand gel again and put on some udder balm.

Since I started drinking goats milk raw I have not gotten sick. I do test for disease, so that makes a difference as well. I strain with a coffee filter, put it in the fridge, and there ya go.

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
I've made a teat dip using some recipes I found. It uses a tiny bit bleach, some dish soap, and water all diluted down in a big jar. I put it on before and after milking. After milking I strain the milk and leave it in the freezer for an hour or so and then it's ready to drink.

Since I take all the right precautions with keeping the milk clean and safe I feel more than comfortable drinking it. I also haven't gotten sick yet too! :)

·
Registered
1,319 Posts
we check for mastitis every milking. as long as you are clean you should have no problems. we use wipes before milking and teat dip after.

·
Registered
30,566 Posts
I prefer a vinegar water udder wash, over bleach only because its not a chemical, I also find th vinegar conditions the udders and teats as well. I add a bit of dish soap too...I use two towels per goat..one to wash and one to dry...I buy those white car towels...