Question for all? What fencing do you have?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by jberter, Jan 23, 2010.

1. jberter

jberter New Member

Depending on what breed of goats you have,,, what type of fencing do you use or have to confine the excape artist??? :whatgoat: :GAAH: Is there such a thing as different fencing used for different breeds of goats & what has worked best for you??? Newbie here wants to know??? :ponder: All info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks..

2. sealawyer

sealawyer New Member

May 31, 2009
    Dew, Texas
    We have Boer goats on 116 acres. We have ten strand 4-point barbed wire on the perimiter fence (and very little predation or hog problems). We use 5 strand electric hot wire for cross fencing the various paddocks and pastures (use the hottest 110 volt fence charge that you can afford). We have field fence for all of the pens with hot wires at 8 inches and 16 inches high.

3. jberter

jberter New Member

Thank you Fred for the info, we have Boer goats also , but only a small herd of 3 does & 1 buck. We have cattle panels up for now and know with the addition of our herd that we will have to add more or check into other typs of fencing. Here is a picture of the kids in their inclosure. http://share.shutterfly.com/action/welc ... s2jZszctc0
    Thanks again for the info.

4. SterlingAcres

SterlingAcres Member

Oct 19, 2009
    We haven't built the new barn or fencing yet, but we're currently housing miniature goats with 4 and 8ft tall welded wire and wooden posts fencing (was built for wild turkeys and chickens). Knock on wood, no escapes yet :)

5. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    We have nigerian dwarfs and use Oklahoma brand or OK brand heavy duty, max tight, horse fencing. It's 5 feet tall with 2 by 4 '' squares. http://www.okbrandwire.com/max-tight-horse-fence.htm I absolutely love this stuff. I've had no escapes for the 3 years i've had it. It's very durable and looks nice.

6. jberter