question for all you soapers.....

Discussion in 'Personal Creations' started by tallgirl, Nov 20, 2010.

1. tallgirl

tallgirl Member

Oct 14, 2009
    I have been researching making soap, and lotion, and am getting so excited about it! I am wondering how profitable is it to make and sell it? There are price breaks of course for supplies sold in larger amounts, and I am wondering should I dive in? or edge in gradually? How quickly do you get yours sold? How big is the market? What are the most popular items?
    It looks like so much fun! Thanks for your help.

2. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    To be honest - I am pretty new to it - but it is in how you can market, how much time YOU want to spend doing it, along with how much you want to start with (expense wise). Of course - this time of year is better for selling soaps than others. I personally started out with just enough scents to make a batch of each of the ones that I wanted. To be honest - the ones that I thought would sell out quickly - did not and the others are the ones that did!

I personally have been experimenting, playing with molds, colors, and different companies for scents to see what I like the best.

I would start small - make small batches so that they come out the way that you would like. In the beginning there are always some "imperfects"!

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I'm making batches of cold process soap every week...still in the curing process but I'm working on a price now going by supplies and time, haven't put any up for sale yet. I'm not "into" the fancy colored soaps, natural with light scents are more my thing. Getting everything ready for orders has been a trial due to my work schedule and the busyness of the holidays.

I got some of my oils and scented oils from www.brambleberry.com
    Kelebek gave me that link...she's got a whole "business" going now!

4. Randi

Randi New Member

Apr 22, 2011
    Calvert County, MD