Question on lineage for breeding purposes

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by logansmommy7, Feb 21, 2010.

1. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    I am looking at breeding possibilities for the future and was comparing some pedigrees. Can there be relations between bucks and does that go back to grandparents, great grandparents, and beyond? I am finding a few crosses in my pedigrees and wonder, can they be related distantly to make good pedigrees in the future? I am a newbie, and don't know these things. Please educate me!!!! :whatgoat:

2. 4hmama

4hmama New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    No. Central WV
    A lot of times there are similar lines throughout pedigrees.... Many breeders 'line breed' which is breeding related animals to enhance good qualities. Unfortunately, it can also enhance the poor qualities. There is an ongoing debate about the difference between inbreeding and linebreeding.

Fiasco Farm has a very informative website, or you could simply look up 'linebreeding' online. Good Luck!

3. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 New Member

Nov 11, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley, VA
    The pedigrees that I am comparing are very distant...like out to the ggrandparents and out to the ggggrandparents...is that still considered linebreeding?

4. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    It could be considered linebreeding if you want it to. I guess what i'm trying to say is...I have had goats with a great great grandsire on both sides of the pedigree twice, do I consider it linebreeding, no, because the sire and dam were not bred together to "linebreed'' onto that goat, it just so happened he was in the pedigree twice. So unless you are deliberately breeding two similar pedigreed goats together to line breed back to a distant certain goat it wouldn't really be considered line breeding.