Question-pack saddle fitting.

Discussion in 'Pack Goat Gear' started by royinidaho, Dec 9, 2013.

1. royinidaho

royinidaho New Member

Oct 31, 2011
    Going through fitting a riding saddle to a mammoth jack. Also know that one saddle fits all horses doesn't exist. So . .

Why are all goat pack saddles the same?

It seems that most goatees purchase a cross buck saddle and put it on a goat.

I guess that would Bo ok if all goats in a pack string were of similar breed or shape?

I have Saanans and La Mancha. The Saanans are built like Holsteins. The Manchs more round like a Belgian. Not that drastic butcha catch my drift.

I put wooden cross bucks on the Manchas and my own design Decker type with hinged bars on the Saanan.

Not being an expert, I notice no problems.

But a goat seems to be quite tolerant of discomfort. As in the last time out when saddling for the return trip down the hill, I inadvertently caught a goodly chunk of hair in the cinch gator clip. Didn't notice a thing until it came to unpacking. Bit of a rodeo until I figured things out.

If a goat is that tolerant of discomfort how does a fella fit things properly.

What do u watch for?

BTW, if I packed my goats like I've seen people doing it on the web I'd be run out of the forest:devilish:

2. idahonancy

idahonancy Member Supporting Member

Dec 13, 2008
    Idaho North
    Roy there are options in fitting a saddle to a goat. Northwest Packgoats have aluminum saddles where the cross buck paddles are adjustable. If we could get our Packgoat Forum put back together there is a lot of information about properly fitting a saddle to a goat. When the Goat Spot swallowed up the Packgoat Forum it scrambled years of work on this issue. If you do a search you may find some of it.

3. TOU

TOU New Member

Aug 18, 2013
    Top-Of-Utah
    Hey Nancy,