Questions about ADGA registration?

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by bagelbeagle, Jul 1, 2020.

1. bagelbeagle

bagelbeagle New Member

May 4, 2020
    Michigan
    So I bought a registered alpine doe and her two doelings from a breeder a few weeks ago. I'm a complete newbie to goats, but I've been looking into how to get her kids and an unrelated alpine buckling I also bought registered with ADGA. From what it looks like, the Alpine doe just needs transfer papers to show that I bought her and own her now, but the kids need to be actually registered. While the buckling seems pretty straightforward being that he's just a full alpine, the doe and her doelings are more confusing.
    First question: the doe I purchased ended up being an experimental 75% alpine doe, which I understand meaning that she isn't technically a full alpine doe, but if I breed her to a full alpine buck, then those kids will be full registerable alpine kids?
    Second question: the experimental doe's doelings are half lamancha, half alpine. The sire was a full registered lamancha, so do I register them as 50% alpine, 50% lamancha, or are they only registerable as 50% lamancha because the dam is experimental? I ask this because on the paper work given to me, the breeder listed the doelings as "Alpine/Lamancha grade" on one of the doeling's breed section on the application and "Grade/Experimental" on the other's application. Also, the breeder marked them as conforming to the alpine breed standard, but they have elf ears, not erect ears which the paperwork says is breed standard for alpines.
    Sorry if none of this is making sense or if I'm missing something obvious. I just want to get this right the first time so I don't have to send it back in if I make a mistake. I've never done it before, and I can't seem to find a straight answer anywhere on the paperwork or on the ADGA site, but I might just be missing it somewhere. Thanks for any help!

2. ksalvagno