Questions about Raw vs Pasteurized Milk

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by LunarFantom, Oct 8, 2017.

1. LunarFantom

LunarFantom New Member

Oct 8, 2017
    Wasn't sure if I should put this in Beginner Questions or not, lemme know if I'm overstepping here. Ahem:

So I'm contemplating goat farming for milk selling purposes and thinking about the question of Raw Milk vs Pasteurized Milk. As a biologist, I realize that raw milk is arguably more dangerous, but in my state it can be sold more easily. While pasteurized milk has to meet government grade A standards. For me the big question is health, in particular vitamin D. Its hard to get vitamin D up here and I want to know if I can add it to any milk produced. So my questions are:

1. In your experience is it difficult/expensive to pasteurize milk so it meets government standards?
    2. Would it be frowned upon to add a vitamin supplement to raw milk? (I realize it mainly appeals to people who are distrustful of "chemicals" being added to their raw milk.)
    3. If you add vitamins to your milk, where do you purchase them? Is there a special kind of supplement ready to be added straight to the milk or do most farmers just mix the normal supplements intended straight for human consumption?

Tips on sterilization or suggested further reading also welcome. Thanks in advance for your time.

2. PB_Nubians

PB_Nubians Member

Jan 17, 2017
    OHIO
    Well you are going to have very strong opinions from both sides on this one.
    I know very little about the sale of raw milk because it is illegal in my state unless you can use a herd share program. I wish it was legal though.
    As far as raw or pasteurized goes my family will only drink raw milk. This is because of all the health benefits that come along with it. That was our main reason for the goats in the first place.
    The raw milk has decreased the medical bills greatly!