The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm hoping y'all can help with some questions I have. I have a Nigerian dwarf bottle baby. He was born on 6/29. He eats around 5-6 times a day whole milk. I'm new to bottle babies and have some questions that I can't seem to find answers too. So here they go

1. When Tony falls asleep he makes funny little snort cue noises. Is this normal? 2. He has been sneezing some today. Is this normal? 3. I've noticed some grumbles from his tummy and want to make sure it's normal too. And fouth he's started itching and shaking his ears, I don't see anything in them but should I treat them for mites (and how). Ohandwhen should I worm him and vaccinate him?

Please help.

Thanks Sami

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
58,832 Posts
Congrats on your new little guy!

First, I would cut his bottles down to 4 times per day. He needs time in between bottles to process the milk and have an empty stomach for the next bottle.

I wouldn't be too concerned about the noises he makes when he sleeps. I would just watch and see about the sneezing. You could always take his temperature and see what it is.

Is he inside your house? They do itch and shake once in a while.

I vaccinate with CDT at 3 weeks and 6 weeks.

·
Registered
30,548 Posts
he is adorable Congrats : ) ... Karen is correct..get a temp and keep a watch on the sneezing....
Tummy grumbling is normal as he digests his milk...How much per bottle does he get and about how much does he weigh? To know how much he should eat..I weigh my baby then multiply that by 16 to get his weight in oz..then multiply that by 10% to see how much he needs in a 24 hour period..then I divide that into 4-5 bottles a day..by the time he is 2 weeks..I feed the last bottle about 8 pm...